Filing period opens for council races

Term limits mean Pearsall will have new mayor

The filing period for candidates vying for election to places on their respective city councils has opened and continues through 5 p.m. Friday, February 12.
City council elections are scheduled for Saturday, May 1, in Pearsall, Dilley and Cotulla, pending any changes caused by the ongoing coronavirus pandemic. Last year’s municipal elections were postponed following a statewide lockdown and concerns over virus contagion. The elections were ultimately held to coincide with the general election in November.
In this year’s elections, each city council has a number of places on the ballot, but term limits in Pearsall mean that the city will elect a new mayor.
Mary Moore, who has served as mayor for the past six years, is unable to seek reelection due to regulations in the city’s Home Rule Charter. Section 3.03 of the charter stipulates that no person shall serve more than three consecutive two-year terms in elected government office. Moore was elected mayor in May 2015 and was re-elected in 2017 and 2019.
“It has been my pleasure serving the citizens of Pearsall,” Moore said.
Pearsall’s council election will also include seats 5, 6 and 7. Abel Nieto, who was appointed by councilors late last year after Robert Villarreal vacated the seat to run for county commissioner, currently holds seat 5. Place 6 is held by Roland Segovia, who has announced his intentions to run for mayor. Place 7 is held by Davina Rodriguez.
Three council seats are likewise on the ballot at Cotulla City Hall. Juan Garcia currently holds Place 3, and is one of the council’s longest-serving members. Place 4 is held by Luis Allala; Place 5 is held by Freddy N. Gonzalez. Each council seat is elected for two years, and there is no limit to the number of terms a councilor may serve in Cotulla.
Council places on the ballot for the city of Dilley in this year’s election will be announced after city staff reply to media inquiries.